Integration with ethernet based Crestron home Automation processor

With out getting too technical on the Crestron side, I will tell you what I need.

Basically I have an Arduino D. and an Ethernet shield. I want to be able to send strings over Ethernet to the Arduino such as "g1o" which would translate to Garage 1 Open and trigger a relay. I also want do the opposite and use the Arduino as an input device for Crestron and send a string to Crestron such as "db1" for door bell pressed. Do you think this can be done easily? I have to tell you there are so many ways to do this but I think it would be fun to do it with Arduino.

I just need some guidance on sending and receiving string via the Ethernet shield and I am pretty confident that I can do the rest.

Thanks in advance

Scott Portocarrero

Have you got all the Crestron software?

Yes that is not the problem, I am a Crestron Programmer, are you looking for it?

I just need some guidance on sending and receiving string via the Ethernet shield and I am pretty confident that I can do the rest.

Well, most of what has been posted network wise is the arduino being used as a telnet application, email client, and as a seperate web server or web client. I'm not about code combining both web applications. What you posted indicates you may need both web applications combined. Seperate they are pretty simple.

If they are separate can you give me some guidance. Basically I use a module in Crestron called a Serial IO from where I can send any serial string to a serial port or a TCP/IP URL. So with that said I just need the Arduino to be listening for a certain string, whatever it is, and execute a function based on the string. ie. Crestron sends "g1o" Arduino enables relay on DO1. I hope I am being clear.

Thanks for you help.......any help is much appreciated

If you just need the arduino to receive serial input from the cerston and operate relays, that should be simple. What is being sent from the creston?