Go Down

Topic: USART does not transmit any longer after power off (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

hmiezin

I am new to the Arduino, just got an UNO. very easy to setup and I am trying my first sketches successfully, BUT....

...when I write a sketch that requires serial output, the sketch works very well after upload from the IDE or after reset.
Now, if I disconnect the UNO, then reconnect it (power off, then on) the sketch restarts (a led continues blinking for example) but no characters can be transmitted on the serial .

Other sketches behave the same way. Examples provided with the IDE have the same problem (Basics, AnalogReadSerials or DigitalReadSerials). You can try it quite easily.

Seems that something in the hardware is intialized by the IDE on the board, which is not initialized by the sketches. In the 8U2 maybe ?

I need that the Arduino works as soon as power is available, so this is not convenient for my app.

Do you have an idea how to fix it ?

Thanks in advance.

mellis

Is it an Arduino Uno SMD?  If so, it might have a problem with any program restarting when the board is unplugged and replugged.  The pin 13 LED will flash every few seconds (three times each, I think). 

Can you confirm that your program is really running after unplugging and replugging the board?  For example, have it blink an LED on a different pin. 

If it's not running your sketches at all, you should return the board to your distributor for a replacement, as there was a problem in the version of the bootloader that was on the initial Uno SMD boards.

If it is running your sketches, but not transmitting serial, can you provide more information about how you're trying to read the serial port?  Do you close whatever terminal / monitor before unplugging and reopen it after replugging?  Does the pin 13 LED flash when you reopen the serial connection?

hmiezin

Hello,

I have an arduino UNO DIP, not SMD.