Arduino uno not recognized on device manager (device descriptor request failed)

Good day, I'm a total newbie with arduino stuff so if anyone can help me that would be great!

So, early today the arduiono was fine I could upload and run the code (basic led stuff) during that time I might have connected the pins on the wrong holes but the board was still fine then I started to try making a way to switch on my computer using the arduino with a button I had the ground from the button to the PWR- of the computer and a 5v wire connected to the PWR+ I used a 9v DC Adapter for this since the computer was quite far.

[How I wired it]

Here's where things started to go kinda downhill (I think).

So, the board got quite hot so I cooled it down for a while. When I went back to change some codes the computer stopped recognizing the board and when I checked device manager it says "(device descriptor request failed)" So I tried running the last project I uploaded and it still works but I can't connect it to my PC.

Tried

• Changing USB port
  • Changing cable
  • Using other PC
  • Reinstall Arduino

Nothing worked

I read some article about the problem from "It's broken" or "bootloader" or "Uninstalling".

Any help would be great

Sorry for the bad english

ASean___'s picture:

It got hot? And now it gives device descriptor request failed? You damaged the hardware, order a new one. Arduino boards (especially official ones and clones with 16u2 serial adapter - the cheap clones with alternative serial adapters are somewhat harder to destroy) are fairly easy to trash the USB on if you do things that end up abusing the power rails (including connecting an excessive voltage to an I/O pin - it gets backpowered at an excessive voltage, which is a highly effective way to damage parts).

What are PWR+ and PWR-, exactly?

Thanks for the reply!