Go Down

Topic: Digital volume control (Read 2090 times) previous topic - next topic

GrahamB

Hi,
Using an LM386 amplifier, got access to lots of useful circuits, but what I want is a digital volume control.

Why the LM386, simple it's what I have.

Yes I could modify the amplitude of the output, but a separate digital volume control would be easier. I do also have the MCP4725 DAC which I was hoping would be of use.

I am a programmer with a rudimentary knowledge of electronics.

Graham
The art of answering a question is to understand what the question actually is.

DVDdoug

Jan 29, 2018, 06:47 pm Last Edit: Jan 29, 2018, 06:48 pm by DVDdoug
If you are already using a DAC then you simply multiply the sample values by a factor to adjust the volume.  For example, multiplying all of the samples by 0.5 (before sending the data to the DAC) will cut the volume in half (-6dB).   If you multiply by zero, you get silence.    That's how the volume control in your phone or computer works.    (But if you are not using the DAC...  if you have an analog signal...  you'd need an ADC in front of the DAC and that wouldn't make much sense.)

Otherwise you can use a digital potentiometer.   Usually they are 8-bits.   There are (at least) 3 different kinds of digital pots.   The "simplest" has up/down inputs where you step the volume up or down by one-step with each pulse.    There are also parallel (i.e. 8-inputs) and I2C controlled pots.   I2C seems to be the most common. 

artisticforge

Hi,
Using an LM386 amplifier, got access to lots of useful circuits, but what I want is a digital volume control.

Why the LM386, simple it's what I have.

Yes I could modify the amplitude of the output, but a separate digital volume control would be easier. I do also have the MCP4725 DAC which I was hoping would be of use.

I am a programmer with a rudimentary knowledge of electronics.

Graham
Which Arduino board are you using?
Which version of the Arduino IDE are you using?