Project: 3 nema stepper motors and 5 sensors

Hi,

I have another post running for building a Actautor.
But what im trying to build is a machine that moves about 5 kg of paper (sliced in 16 parts W=32 x L=92 x H=75 mm per slice ) from 1 side to the other.
Then my actuator have to push out 1 sliced part for about 200mm. The arm wil then move for 1 slice width to the right then the actuator puches that slice out ezv. ezv.
See attachment for a drawing.

Because im new to arduino what is the best hardware solution for accomplishing this?
Also having in mind that i'm not so good in programming (yet).

A have 4 dvr8825 driver boards. Is an CNC shield something that i can use?
CNC shield

Also i will use about 5 sensors (IR and momentary) for end stops.

Also i think i should use accelstepper.h liberary for controling al this with 1 arduino uno?
Is this a smart move?
Don't want to put a lot of energie in something that maybe later it have to be changed.

So want to make a good start with hardware as with software.

Hoop someone can give me some advise in all of this.

tnx

oohh the nema 23 specs: NEMA 23

And the nema 17:NEMA 17

OPs image so we don't have to download.
See this handy image guide.

check! tnx!

This Simple Image Guide is newer and shorter :slight_smile:

The CNC shield should be suitable as all of the motors seem to be within the capabilities of the DRV8825.

...R
Stepper Motor Basics
Simple Stepper Code

i got the motor running normally with the simple stepper code.
Also i have read stepper motor basics a few times.

So u think a cnc shield is a good option? can they be programmed the same... like using accelstepper.h?

Kumalix:
So u think a cnc shield is a good option? can they be programmed the same... like using accelstepper.h?

A CNC shield is just a convenient holder for the stepper drivers. You just need to know which Arduino I/O pin corresponds to which pin on each stepper driver. That should be clear from the shield datasheet.

...R