Go Down

Topic: WS2812 with UNO, flickers only under one set of commands (Read 693 times) previous topic - next topic

diablorick

Hi all,
I am trying to make taillights for my car and I had everything working perfectly, except, the brake lights. When I turn them on, the top 2 rows and bottom 1 row flicker (top 2 more than the bottom one). I am using a 10A external power supply to run the lights. I am getting 5.1V from it. I have a ground shared to the UNO from the power supply, and all of the other functions work fine (no flicker) so I think it's a coding issue but I can't figure it out. This is not done, so I know there is code that does nothing in it. Also, if you have any tips for making it work better, feel free to clue me in. I am new to the addressable LEDs.
Thank you!!

diablorick

Quick update. I tried it with a Mega also, and got the same results.

diablorick

OK, another update. I think that the problem is in how long it's taking to loop through all of the code each time. If I comment out everything except the brake lights, they work fine.As soon as I add about 30 lines back in, they flicker again. Any ideas??

PaulRB

diablorick

Just an update in case someone else has the same problem. I was doing all of the functions of the LEDs in the main loop. This caused a LOT of timing issues. I changed my program and made Function for all of the LED actions and then just made a few simple calls to them in the Main loop. Works perfect now.

PaulRB

I changed my program and made Function for all of the LED actions and then just made a few simple calls to them in the Main loop. Works perfect now.
That helps no-one in the future if you don't post the updated code.

Grumpy_Mike

Just doing that by itself is not going to fix anything, you must have done something else that you are either not telling us or that you don't know yourself.

diablorick