Go Down

Topic: getting my Uno 8x8x8 led cube to run on a mega (Read 2091 times) previous topic - next topic

Roonie

Hi,

Bit of a noob here so sorry about that.
I got my 8x8x8 led cube to work perfectly on an Uno. Now I want to run the cube on a mega so that I can use the extra pins.
But the programme wont run.  :smiley-confuse:  My programming skills are limited so I was hoping that
mayby someone here could help me out ...  :)
Putting the code here exceeds the 9000 characters so I put it in the attachment, hope that was correct.

thankx

J-M-L

Mar 16, 2018, 08:59 am Last Edit: Mar 16, 2018, 09:00 am by J-M-L
The tutorial states
We connected the cube like this: DATA bus: Digital pins 0-7. This corresponds to PORTD on the ATmega328 on the Arduino board, so we can use direct port access instead of Arduinos digitalWrite (which is slow). Address bus: Digital pins 8-10. This corresponds to PORTB bit 0-2. On this we HAVE to use direct port access. Arduinos digitalWrite wouldn't work with this, because you can't set multiple pins simultaneously. If the address pins are not set at the exact same time, the output of the 74HC138 would trigger the wrong latches. Output Enable: Digital pin 11. Layer transistors: Analog pins 0-5 and digital pins 12 and 13.

We had to go a bit outside the scope of the Arduino platform. The intention of Arduino is to use digitalWrite() for IO port access, to make the code portable and some other reasons. We had to sidestep that and access the ports directly. In addition to that, we had to use one of the timers for the interrupt routine.

The registers for the interrupt and timers are different on different AVR models, so the code may not be portable between different versions of the Arduino board.
So they use PORTD and PORTB (and Timer2) in the old .pde format (link to source code)

Those ports do not map to the same pins on a mega see this table for the mapping.

You would need to recompile and not use their hex file of course