Go Down

Topic: How to use this button? (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

pat_danaher

In designing a project recently, I wanted a little extra flair for my buttons, so I bought a couple of these and one of these. The bigger ones in the first link worked great; they have two wires for the lighting around the edge of the button, and three wires for the switch functionality just like you'd expect. But the one in the second link, without the lighting, only has two leads. So (and, by the way, I'm a complete beginner with this stuff) with two leads instead of three, I don't know how to read any information into my Arduino board with it. One lead is presumably voltage, and the other is ground, but how do I get my arduino to read whether the button is pressed or not? Or have I just bought a button not designed for electronics like this? I wired it up to just a battery and LED to test, and the light is on when the button is default, and off when it's pressed (I think; now I forget). Also, if the two metal leads are at 12 o'clock and 6 o'clock, it has two slits at 3 and 9, with "+" and "-" symbols next to them. Some pictures are attached. Thanks in advance for any help!

INTP

Button leads don't have a direction. The +/- only matters for the internal LED.
Buttons are just switches that close circuits. It's either momentary (closed only while you hold it down) or latching (press to close, press again to open, etc)

A simple continuity test with a multimeter will make the button operation obvious to you. In terms of using it with an Arduino, look at any tutorial involving a button. There are tons of them.

ReverseEMF

To add to what INTP offered, there is a third type of push button: Normally Closed.  So, here are the options:

1. Normally Open -- when you push the button it closes the inner contacts, when you release it, they open.
2. Normally Closed -- the opposite of Normally Open (push to open and release to close).