Go Down

Topic: LoRa with Nano? (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

leech

Hello,

I have 2 LoRa SX1278 Ra-02 modules connected to Nano 328P boards. I wasn't expecting any of them to work because of the Nano not being able to provide enough current to the LoRa modules, however somehow the transmitter works correctly (the receiver instead doesn't).

Questions:

1) What's the smallest board I can use "as is" with the LoRa (e.g. without providing external 3.3V power to the LoRa) as I would use it with the UNO? For instance, I don't understand if I can use the mini pro (8Mhz, 3.3V) or not.

2) can I use a level shifter to shift the 5V to 3.3V from the Nano or do they provide the same power (therefore it would make no difference)?

Basically I'm trying to keep circuitry at minimum and as small as possible.

Sorry I'm not very good with electronics and I struggle to understand schematics I've seen around.

Thank you!

L.

jgromes

Jul 23, 2019, 09:35 pm Last Edit: Jul 23, 2019, 09:39 pm by jgromes
I've used SX1278 LoRa modules with Pro Mini without any issues, your problem with receiver not working is probably not due to power issues. Though it's hard to guess without schematic and code.

As per 2: you might be confusing power voltage level and logic levels. Most SX1278 modules don't have built-in level shifters, so I highly recommend using those if you want to use board with 5V voltage. No need for level shifting with 3.3V with Pro Mini though.
https://github.com/jgromes

noiasca

Jul 24, 2019, 08:15 am Last Edit: Jul 24, 2019, 08:21 am by noiasca
if you are looking for a small footprint, (nearly) ready to go solution, consider the TTGO LoRa32 http://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/c8lG1lyy - which brings MCU, LoRa and a Oled on board. Add two wires, connect power, upload sketch - works.
how to react on postings:
- post helped: provide your final sketch, say thank you & give karma.
- post not understood: Ask as long as you understand the post