Go Down

Topic: Using Arduino UNO + PCA8695 (8 servos)? (Quadruped robot) (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

neilpare

Introduction

[EDIT - PREVIOUS TITLE:] Using MR-C3024 (ATMega 128L) with the Arduino IDE (8 servos)? (Quadruped robot)

Hi,

I'm completely new to the Arduino world and to robotics/hardware stuff in general.
I found a 10 year old project i built as a kid but never really programmed.

Now i would like to revive the quadruped robot and program it in C++, not in roboBASIC or similar due to the limitations and... Just not XD

The robot has 8 servos (HITECH HSR-8498HB), a 6V battery (1000mah) all attached to the board in question (MR-C3024 (ATMega 128L), 7.4MHz).

What i tried

I searched online for a while until i found out that Arduino IDE (obviously) supports Arduino-like boards but it is possible to install support for non-Arduino boards.
So i searched for my board online and i found this, that sincerely i don't even know if that's the right stuff to add but i tried anyway.

Now that i think about it, maybe this supports only the ATMega 128L and does not consider all the board.

Anyway once installed following the instructions on GitHub i found myself stuck at this part: "Select what kind of programmer you're using under the Programmers menu." and then "Hit Burn Bootloader.".

In the first step, I don't really know what a Programmer is, how to choose it and why should i use one. Also reading around it seems useless if i use a USB to run the program on the board but also useful to bootload, that bring us to the next point, the second step.
With a bit of research I think the right Programmer should be "USBasp (MegaCore)", don't really know why anyway, trying to burn the bootloader the board gives this error: "avrdude: error: could not find USB device with vid=0x16c0 pid=0x5dc vendor='www.fischl.de' product='USBasp'"

Trying to Upload without burning it tried for 10 times repeatedly saying it is a Programmer problem.