Help purchasing machines for a Summer Camp

I need some guidance here. I run a summer camp class that does a whole lot of tinkering with different aspects of engineering. Three of the topics that I need computers for are 3D modeling, programming and circuits. I do a couple days of getting kids introduced to tinkering with the Sparkfun kits and building some basic circuits and programs.

The problem is that I'm a public school teacher, and this is for a summer camp, not affiliated with the district. My principal used to let this summer camp organization rent my laptop cart on the cheap, but higher ups have put a stop to that. I found a donor that is willing to spend about $2k on laptops that I can use for the summer camp.

What would you recommend? I used to use Autodesk inventor when I had my windows machines, but I'm thinking since it's a pretty basic intro (the kids are 12-16 years old) that I could get Chromebooks and use something like On Shape.

The problem is I have read conflicting stuff on using Chromebooks for Arduino development. Is it a reasonable option now? I'm trying to go as cheap as possible, so the kids can work in singles and pairs, not groups of 3 and 4. Anyone have experience with this? Perhaps even running this in a classroom setting? Are chromebooks appropriate? Is there a similar price point for a windows or Linux machine?

Him

Here is some information on using Chromebooks with Arduino, that my GrandsonTheEngineer wrote:

http://arduino-info.wikispaces.com/Arduino+for+Chromebooks

Not sure about prices on machines...

He also wrote this, showing the construction and programming of a low-cost robot kit with Chromebook:

http://arduino-info.wikispaces.com/RobotKitMenu-1-C

Let us know how this works out; this is a BIG issue in schools, especially in the coming school year...

The Arduino Web Editor Chrome app subscription is significantly cheaper if you have an educational account: