Go Down

Topic: Arduino to WPF - Serial Data Corrupted (Read 624 times) previous topic - next topic

drehwurm

Apr 28, 2018, 03:51 pm Last Edit: Apr 28, 2018, 03:54 pm by drehwurm Reason: attachment didn't get uploaded
Hello everybody. I am very new with arduino and programming in general, so I apologize for any inconveniece ;-)

The thing is, I want the arudino to send values (in the long run from pontentiometers) to my WPF Application, but the data get's mixed up because sometimes only half the message is being sent and in between there are CR/LFs.

This looks like this:

The Message is: 47

The Messa

ge is: 48

The Message is: 49

The Message is: 50

The Message is: 51

The Mess

age is: 52

Here's the c#-code:

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using System.Windows.Threading;
using System.IO.Ports;
using System.Diagnostics;

namespace ArduinoTest
{
    public class ArduinoReciever
    {
        //Fields
        SerialPort arduinoPort = null;
        public string recievedData;

//Constructor
        public ArduinoReciever(string portname, int baudrate)
        {
            arduinoPort = new SerialPort();
            arduinoPort.BaudRate = baudrate;
            arduinoPort.PortName = portname;
            arduinoPort.StopBits = StopBits.One;
            arduinoPort.ReadTimeout = 200;
            arduinoPort.WriteTimeout = 50;
            arduinoPort.DataBits = 8;
            arduinoPort.Handshake = Handshake.None;
            arduinoPort.Parity = Parity.None;
            arduinoPort.Open();

arduinoPort.DataReceived += new SerialDataReceivedEventHandler(Recieve);
        }

//Methods
        private void Recieve(object sender, SerialDataReceivedEventArgs e)
        {
            // Collecting the characters received to our 'buffer' (string).
            recievedData = arduinoPort.ReadExisting();
            Debug.WriteLine(recievedData);

}

}
}