Go Down

Topic: Yun versions of digitalRead(), digitalWrite(), analogRead() & analogWrite() (Read 343 times) previous topic - next topic

robertics

Hi, I'm new to the Arduino Yun and Python and I'm trying develop a usable way of programming the two Yun processors.

My mental picture of the Bridge is a Python dictionary with read/write access from both processors. That makes passing static text between the two a fairly simple matter, but needs a bit of work if the two processors have to function in lock step.

The lack of documentation for the Python side of the Bridge means that its designers only really expect the vast majority of people to use the MPU as a means of supplying internet services to an Arduino Leonardo. That is a great shame because the Leonardo side of things, while great for interfacing to digital i/o, sensors and things can run out of resources very quickly. Meanwhile, the MPU has masses of resource spare after managing the internet services, but using it is difficult because the Python side of the Bridge lacks documentation.

So it seems to me that I would get more out of my Yun if I pushed the bulk of the processing out of the Leonardo and into the MPU, leaving the Leonardo to manage digital and analogue i/o and manage I2C sensors, etc., plus any real world stuff that might require immediate attention.

With that in mind, I have defined Python versions of my old Arduino programming favourites:

digitalRead()
   digitalWrite()
   analogRead()
   analogWrite()

Together with some service functions for the Leonardo side.

I can't help thinking that this is already defined somewhere, but I can't find it. If it is, please tell me where.

It could do with a few more functions, for pin mode setting, etc. It also needs to be bundled into libraries, but I'll worry about that later.

The full code for both processor is below. It seems to work ok. I thought I'd get an opinion or two before developing it any further. Ideas would be welcome.

Arduino Sketch