Go Down

Topic: Arduino UNO 4 servo + two motor control pls help (Read 743 times) previous topic - next topic

charlieboi

May 21, 2018, 09:07 am Last Edit: May 21, 2018, 09:29 am by charlieboi
I am completely new to Arduino and most electronics/circuitry stuff. I'm building an IR controlled robot with a turret on top requiring 4 servos - x and y axis as well as two for firing. I need help with a circuit to power and control those servos, leaving room for two hobby motors for wheels. Is this possible without any shield or motor/servo driver? Please let me know.

I have made a circuit in Tinkercad that might work to control the servos, but there are only two PWM pins left and I'm not sure whether non-PWM pins can control the hobby motors. There is also a problem where one of the servos will not turn like the other three in the Tinkercad simulation. Not sure whether this will happen irl. Here is the link to the project: https://www.tinkercad.com/things/5D8Siv4Jaqk

Thank you in advance.

AWOL

Check the documentation for the Arduino Servo library to see if it is suitable for your requirements.

slipstick

Servos are usually controlled using the Servo library. It does not need to use the PWM pins.

If your drive motors are DC motors then you will need an H-bridge motor driver for them if you want to be able to go both forward and backward. Forward only would just need a couple of MOSFETs.

That sounds like an ambitious project for someone with no experience but most of it will have been done before so Google will have plenty of useful information. Good luck.

Steve

charlieboi