Go Down

Topic: Trying to control 2 strips of WS2801 with Arduino Nano (Read 781 times) previous topic - next topic

JollySonX

Hello All, a complete Newbie here so please be gentle.

I eventually want 2 strips of 4 LEDs each to do some pretty things with 2 or 3 buttons, Im along way from the button pushing part, and I'm happy to stumble over that bridge when I come to it.

For the last few days I've been googling as much as I could with every possible search term I could think of and I've unfortunately had no luck. I've been reluctant to signing up and asking for help because I'm sure its already out there in the interweb some where. Also I personally I don't like to ask for help.

What I'm trying to do is, as the title says is control 2 strips of WS2801 LEDS from an arduino nano, I have played with some different examples, and have used the Strandtest example from the Adafruit WS2801 library I have managed to get both strips doing different things by creating this

Code: [Select]

Adafruit_WS2801 strip = Adafruit_WS2801(4, dataPin1, clockPin1);
Adafruit_WS2801 strip2 = Adafruit_WS2801(4, dataPin2, clockPin2);

and also this

Code: [Select]

strip.begin();
  strip2.begin();
  // Update LED contents, to start they are all 'off'
  strip.show();
  strip2.show();

and then duplicating the colorWipe function(is function the correct word?) and calling it colorWipe2 and this does perform both colorWipe sequences on the correct strips as expected, however it performs colorWipe2 after it finishes colorWipe
my end result I would like both strips to run the same sequence in time with each other, but also be able to have different sequences after the push of a button.(again future me will be sorting the buttons out I don't care if he cant deal with that, that's his problem not mine)