Go Down

Topic: Test sketch for Arduino Controlled Pc Power Switch not working  (Read 474 times) previous topic - next topic

Noob-code-bunny

Hello there I hope someone will be able to help me with a project.
I want to use digital pin 13 (or any pin for that matter) to replace my power switch on my pc. And then short that pin to gnd when the arduino receives an ir signal from remote conceded to pin 4.
I then want to include having all remote buttons do something on the pc. A bit like  the tutorial on instructables by HactiCs called "IR remote control your laptop with arduino uno"
http://www.instructables.com/id/Remote-controle-your-laptop-with-arduino-UNO/
But it uses vb express. and i dont want to use that.

Is there a way to make the code run from within another platform like eventghost or python?

I cannot seem to find why its not working probably as I'm a noob.
Here is my code

#include <IRremote.h>
const int RECV_PIN = 4;
const int redPin = 13;
// Define IR Receiver and Results Objects
IRrecv irrecv(RECV_PIN);//irrecv is the receiver object, you can use whatever name you want
decode_results results;

int buttonState = 0;
int togglestate = 0;

int incomingByte; 
int state = HIGH;
int reading;
int previous = LOW;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  irrecv.enableIRIn(); // Start the receiver
  pinMode(redPin, OUTPUT);
}
void loop(){
  if (irrecv.decode(&results)) {// irrecv.decode(&results) :Returns true if a code was receive
    Serial.println(results.value, HEX);
    if(results.value==0xFF28D7){
      digialWrite(redPin, LOW);
      delay(500);
      digitalWrite(redPin, HIGH);
     }
     delay(300);// this delay is here to avoid the 0xFFFFFFF
     irrecv.resume (); // Receive the next value
   }
  }

sterretje

1)
Please read How to use this forum - please read, specifically point 7 how to post code.

Your code is small enough to add in the post.

2)
Please post a link to that instructable.

3)