Go Down

Topic: Daisy Chained Shift Registers failing when >6 connected (decoupling issue?) (Read 2400 times) previous topic - next topic

camb416

Hi all,

So I am having some trouble with a project. I am daisy-chaining TPIC6C595 Shift Registers, each one driving SA15-11GWA Kingbright 7-segs and the first six in the line work great! However, the third batch keeps displaying garbage.

I have a .1uf cap going from 5V to GND right next to each shift reg (underneath the 7segs), and also a 47uf going from 5V to GND next to the arduino.

I imagine this is a decoupling problem, but alas I am new to daisy chaining so many chips so any input would be so very very appreciated!

Thanks so kindly!  :)

C

johnwasser

I assume you switched the order of the boards and whichever is third in line gets garbled.

My guess is a timing issue.  The Serial Clock (SRCK) line both tells the chip to grab input from SER IN and shifts the second-to-last bit into the last bit.  The last bit is providing SER OUT which, I expect, is connected to the SER IN of the next chip.  If the SRCK line is delayed for any reason, like line capacitance, it may clock the chip while its input is in the process of changing.  I don't know if there is an easy fix for that.
Send Bitcoin tips to: 1G2qoGwMRXx8az71DVP1E81jShxtbSh5Hp

jraskell

You may need to put a buffer amp on your SRCK line.

A possible quick check to see if the problem is a degraded clock signal is to lower the frequency of your output.  This will require writing your own shiftOut() routine with some delays in place, but it's easy enough to just copy the existing Arduino shiftOut() and adding a few delays.  For example:

Code: [Select]

void shiftOutSlow(uint8_t dataPin, uint8_t clockPin, uint8_t bitOrder, uint8_t val)
{
uint8_t i;

for (i = 0; i < 8; i++)  {
if (bitOrder == LSBFIRST)
digitalWrite(dataPin, !!(val & (1 << i)));
else
digitalWrite(dataPin, !!(val & (1 << (7 - i))));
delay(1);
digitalWrite(clockPin, HIGH);