Go Down

Topic: fading several led's (each at a different time) (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

terence-will

hi everybody!

first a little description of my idea: it's a lamp with several led's (10 to 15). if i mention "fade" later it means to fade in and out once (very calm like the apple mac book light). after you switch on the lamp, it takes a few seconds, then the first led fades. then another led after a few seconds. then maybe two at a time... then more and more. then it should be again less and then more again in a loop. do you get the impression?

i was thinking about controlling every single led. i'm working with the arduino uno board and white 5mm leds.
I'm very new to all the programming and electronics. i already found out, that fading with cosinus is much nicer than just with fadeamound (but a little too fast by now).
now the specific problem: how can i delay the start of the fading? or maybe let every led fade every 5 seconds, but start at a different time...
the problem is not fading a single led. i have problems with the shifted starts and breaks.

any tricks and help???

thanks for taking time to help!

terence-will

some programming to have something to talk about...

int value, value2 ;
int ledpin = 3;                           // light connected to digital pin 3
int ledpin2 = 5;                           // light connected to digital pin 5
long time=0;

int periode = 2000;
int displace = 500;

void setup()
{
  // nothing for setup
}

void loop()
{
  time = millis();
  value = 128+127*cos(2*PI/periode*time);
  value2 = 128+127*cos(2*PI/periode*(displace-time));
  analogWrite(ledpin, value);           // sets the value (range from 0 to 255)
  analogWrite(ledpin2, value2);           // sets the value (range from 0 to 255)
}

Grumpy_Mike

Look at the blink without delay example built in to your arduino environment under examples.