Go Down

Topic: Help with programing Neopixels to chase at different speeds (Read 297 times) previous topic - next topic

RatPackVegas

Oct 03, 2018, 06:15 pm Last Edit: Oct 04, 2018, 12:09 pm by RatPackVegas Reason: Adding Code
I have a project that I am working on which is basically a Theater Chase of Neopixels that transition from blue to red and back again along the same chase. It is one long string of 463 neopixels. Right now all the colors are chasing at the same "speed".  Is there a way to make the red Neopixel move at a faster "speed" than the blue one?  Any help would be appreciated, I am still new to programming.  My code is uploaded below.

Code: [Select]

#include <Adafruit_NeoPixel.h>
#ifdef __AVR__
#include <avr/power.h>
#endif

#define PIN 6

Adafruit_NeoPixel strip = Adafruit_NeoPixel(463, PIN, NEO_GRB + NEO_KHZ800);

void setup() {

strip.begin();
strip.show(); // Initialize all pixels to 'off'
}

void loop() {

theaterChase(100);

}

//Theatre-style crawling lights.
void theaterChase(int wait) {

for (int q=0; q < 3; q++)                             //offset
  {
       for (int x=0; x < 90; x=x+3) {
         strip.setPixelColor(x+q, strip.Color(0,0,200));    //turn every third pixel on blue
                 }

for (int y=93; y < 213; y=y+3) {
        strip.setPixelColor(y+q, strip.Color(200,0,0));    //turn every third pixel on red
         }

for (int z=228; z < 231; z=z+3) {
         strip.setPixelColor(z+q, strip.Color(200,0,100));    //turn every third pixel on purple
         }

for (int z=231; z < 281; z=z+3) {
         strip.setPixelColor(z+q, strip.Color(0,0,200));    //turn every third pixel on blue
         }

for (int a=282; a < 285; a=a+3) {
         strip.setPixelColor(a+q, strip.Color(200,0,200));    //turn every third pixel on purple
         }

for (int b=285; b < 355; b=b+3) {
         strip.setPixelColor(b+q, strip.Color(200,0,0));    //turn every third pixel on red
         }

for (int b=366; b < 369; b=b+3) {