Upload hangs - MKR Vidor 4000

I'm a newbie with Arduino, but experienced with FPGA's.

I purchased an MKR Vidor and tried to go through the installation instructions. I have a Windows 7 OS and I'm not sure the drivers were installed correctly. However, the IDE recognizes the board and port.

I try the uploading the blink example and it hangs. Here is the message:

Arduino: 1.8.7 (Windows 7), Board: "Arduino MKR Vidor 4000"

Sketch uses 10820 bytes (4%) of program storage space. Maximum is 262144 bytes.
Forcing reset using 1200bps open/close on port COM6
PORTS {COM3, COM4, COM6, } / {COM3, COM4, COM6, } => {}
Uploading using selected port: COM6
C:\Users\fphiggins\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\arduino\tools\bossac\1.7.0-arduino3/bossac.exe -i -d --port=COM6 -I -U true -i -e -w C:\Users\FPHIGG~1\AppData\Local\Temp\arduino_build_478261/Blink_fph.ino.bin -R
An error occurred while uploading the sketch

The final error message line does not appear until several minutes into the upload. I'm assuming it timed out.
The hardware is blinking a red led at 1 second intervals (this is not from the software being correctly uploaded).
The IDE version is: 1.8.7
The SAMD beta board version is: 1.6.24

What can I do to debug this?
Thanks,
Frank Higgins

this is a SAMD issue. the USB is handled by the MCU. if it is busy with some wrong sketch, it doesn't handle the port. the trick is jumping to bootloader, which can handle the upload. you jump to bootloader by doubleclicking the reset button on board

As Juraj suggested but with an extra step.

Once in bootloader mode (which should appear on another COM port) upload either the BLINK or the BARE MINIMUM example sketches to clear the old sketch.

ballscrewbob:
As Juraj suggested but with an extra step.

Once in bootloader mode (which should appear on another COM port) upload either the BLINK or the BARE MINIMUM example sketches to clear the old sketch.

It will not help if you need to debug where your sketch hangs :slight_smile: