Go Down

Topic: Increasing the torque on 4 12 volts. (Read 5514 times) previous topic - next topic

Skorb

Apr 03, 2011, 03:56 am Last Edit: Apr 05, 2011, 04:12 am by Skorb Reason: 1
Hi,

I am currently using arduino to control 4 12 volt .33 amp 200 step bi-polar steppers.
Data sheet: www.sparkfun.com/datasheets/Robotics/SM-42BYG011-25.pdf

I utilized the circuit diagram for bi-polar steppers listed here: http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/MotorKnob

I am using 16 pins connected to 4 Edited: L293NE motorcontrollers.

However, my steppers have very little torque.

I was previously using a 5 volt, 1 amp power adapter, but this provided very little power, I then shifted to a 9 volt battery, run in series with 3 1.5 volt batteries, but this produced little noticeable change.

I am new to motorcontrol and was wondering where I am going wrong?

Thanks in advance, SKORB.

RuggedCircuits

Four 0.33A steppers means you need 4*0.33*2 = 2.64A of current at maximum power (each stepper has two coils, 0.33A per coil).

No way is a 9V battery going to supply that kind of current. You need a REAL power source, either a big battery pack, or a 12V/3A power supply, etc.

--
The Rugged Motor Driver: two H-bridges, more power than an L298, fully protected

Skorb

Thanks a lot.

If the torque was still too low, would it be possible to increase the voltage?

Say to 15, or 16 with 3 amps in order to raise torque?

RuggedCircuits

What matters most to stepper motors (really, any motor) is the current. The more current, the more torque.

Now, voltage gets into the mix since it is the force by which current flows. In a stepper motor, you change the direction of current in each coil to make it take steps. The faster you can change the direction of current, the more torque you will get. The more current there is after the direction has changed, the more torque you will get.