Go Down

Topic: Help with simple uStepper control (Read 667 times) previous topic - next topic

richard_23

Hi,

I've got simple requirements for my NEMA17 stepper motor and uStepper controller, but I can't get it to do what I want. I'm completely new to Arduino.

My requirements are:

1. Move a carriage 20cm in one direction (CCW) over 8 hours;
2. Move the carriage 40 cm in the opposite direction (CW) EITHER over 8 hours, or if possible just quickly and then pause for eight hours;
3. Move the carriage 20cm in one direction (CCW) back to the middle point over 8 hours.
4. Repeat

The reason for the repeat of steps 1 and 3 are that I need this to run from 6:00 - 22:00, then return to the start position. By starting the code in the middle I can set the experiment running at 14:00 rather than 6:00. This experiment should run continuously for four months.

Some data to support the code:

Distance/rev (mm):   60
Steps/rev:   3200?
Time (hours):   8
time (secs):   28800
Distance 1 (mm):   200
Distance 2 (mm):   400
Move 1 (200mm) steps:   10666.66667
Move 2 (400mm) steps   21333.33333
Move 1 speed (steps/sec):   0.37037037
Move 2 speed (steps/sec):   0.740740741

According to the documentation, the NEMA17 stepper motor has 200 steps/rev, having from testing it it seems to be around 3200. Ideally I'd want a precise number, perhaps using moveAngle instead if I don't know the step number.

Either way, I can't get this simple code to work, and any help would be very appreciated!

Here's what I've got:

Code: [Select]

#include <uStepper.h>

uStepper stepper;

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
  stepper.setup();
  Serial.begin(115200);
}

void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
  stepper.setMaxVelocity(0.37037);
  stepper.moveSteps(10667, CCW, HARD);
  stepper.setMaxVelocity(0.74074);
  stepper.moveSteps(21334, CW, HARD);
}

Many thanks.

MorganS