Any one willing to help out a DIY noob?

I came on here to desperately ask for some guidance from experts or hobbyist like myself.

I'm new to this arduino (uno) coding (C++) and have minute knowledge on how to code anything.

Lets just get to the point.

I'm trying to implement 7-9 60mm 8x8 led RGB matrix screens to a helmet I'm constructing.

After doing some google "research" I stumbled upon a very simplistic looking thing known as the "rainbowduino" created by seeedstudio and wondered if it is really necessary to buy such item?

Can I achieve the same outcome with out having to spend money on expensive additions?

Now like stated before, I'm very new to this do forgive me if I'm very ignorant. I will give it my best to understand and do my own research on what you guys give me.

I just don't want to spend over $200.00 + dollars and not be able to do a thing with the led matrix and the rainbowduino.

Thank-you much for the advice.

I'm trying to implement 7-9 60mm 8x8 led RGB matrix screens

So that's 7 * 8 * 8 * 3 = 1344 LEDs - that is an quite a lot of LEDs to control.

The rainbowduino is just an arduino with built in drivers. It means you have one processor to handle the multiplexing (or refreshing) of each matrix. It is not a bad solution, you could probably make it cheaper if you made it yourself but it is a very big project for a beginner.

[quote author=Grumpy_Mike link=topic=57740.msg415248#msg415248
So that's 7 * 8 * 8 * 3 = 1344 LEDs - that is an quite a lot of LEDs to control.

The rainbowduino is just an arduino with built in drivers. It means you have one processor to handle the multiplexing (or refreshing) of each matrix. It is not a bad solution, you could probably make it cheaper if you made it yourself but it is a very big project for a beginner.
[/quote]

I believe it's only 448 LEDs. 8 * 8 * 7= 448 Unless I'm missing a few.

So you recommened to buy 7 rainbowduinos since it will be easier to work with, right?