Go Down

Topic: The need for speedy access to known solutions (Read 950 times) previous topic - next topic

freddie43

Nov 26, 2018, 08:35 am Last Edit: Nov 26, 2018, 08:54 am by freddie43
Dear Nick Gammon and everyone else who offers help on this forum,

Over the years you have built up a massive knowledge base here, for which I am very grateful, so I hope you will bear with me as I explore how access to it  might be improved.

I have been working with Arduinos for some three years and the big problem with buying devices and chips on eBay has always been finding the right software to drive them. Here I have found your forum a really good place to search for answers, but my recent experience with the forum seems to have exposed a massive flaw - speedy access to the best solution.

My exploration into TFT LCDs has been fraught with problems, with three similar looking shields from mcufriend.com having completely different properties. It was at that point that I really searched your forum in earnest and found over 10,000 references to TFT LCD, and well over 2,000 to mcufriend. I could see that I was not alone!

Clearly people using mcufriend shields hit similar problems to me, but sadly I did not land on David Prentice's 'MCUFRIEND_kbv Library for Uno 2.4, 2.8, 3.5, 3.6, 3.95 inch mcufriend Shields' at https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=366304.0, so it took a number of exchanges with him to dig me out of the mire and discover that he has been producing a large number of updates for drivers for these boards to cope with their range of driver chips. Also he showed that I needed to improve the way I organised my use of libraries.

You have some really useful pages on 'How to use this Forum' and 'Introductory Tutorials' but they do not immediately come to light after Google searches for help. Also I have seen no section on 'Common problems' or 'Really useful software' or 'Start here'.