Go Down

Topic: RGB LED Strip external power source (Read 4296 times) previous topic - next topic

MrDankYT

I am planning on putting RGB Lights on my electronic scooter, the WS2812b kind, dont worry i already got everything planned except the use of the power source and stuffs, i got a battery and a 12A 15v-5v DC step down, but will the ATmega328P Nano V3 Arduino be able to hold up to around 5A of current in 5v? im guessing no? So since the LED strip has +, -, and data, will it be enough to plug up the arduino into a 5v power bank outlet and let the data wire from the led strip go into the arduino while the + and - goes into the actual battery?

Summary: Can i put the data wire from an LED strip to an arduino while the actual + and - is to another power source?

THANKS FOR ANY RESPONSES!!!! I AM NEW TO PROGRAMMING AND WORKING WITH ARDUINOS!

Paul__B

None of the 5 A of current ever passes through the Nano.

The step-down converter connects directly to (both ends of) the LED strip.  Three wires - 5V, ground and the control wire - come back from the connection to the LED strip, to the Nano, supplying power to the Nano 5V ("Vcc") terminal and taking the control signal to the LED strip.  The control wire has a 470 Ohm resistor in series where it connects to the LED strip.

MrDankYT

So putting the output from the step down converter directly into the led strip then putting a normal 5v 1a usb wire from a power bank to power the nano, then you connect the data wire to the data pin that is specified in the programming? Im asking because i saw someone in a video put a usb from his computer into the nano then the output to the led strips would be from the nano itself, along with the data wire, and i was kinda skeptical about that actually working

Paul__B

And you certainly should be sceptical.

Connect to the Vcc, ground and a data pin.  Forget the USB - it is for programming (or if you have a real-time connection to a PC).  Keep all wires running together.

MrDankYT