lto1.exe: internal compiler error: Segmentation fault

I have been using Arduino for the past 2 years and created some very complex projects interfacing with the Blynk app.

Then suddenly yesterday I get the following compiler error. I added 4 lines of code to a program that has been compiled, loaded and run for more than a year. I take out the 4 lines and it compiles fine. I put them back and bingo. I uninstalled everything, downloaded the latest of everything I used and re-installed the IDE and all libraries. No solution:

I use W10 with all the latest updates and an Arduino Mega 2560.

In function 'global constructors keyed to 65535_0_LoadSchedWiFi.ino.cpp.o':

lto1.exe: internal compiler error: Segmentation fault

Please submit a full bug report,

with preprocessed source if appropriate.

See http://gcc.gnu.org/bugs.html for instructions.

lto-wrapper.exe: fatal error: C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\ArduinoLLC.ArduinoIDE_1.8.15.0_x86__mdqgnx93n4wtt\hardware\tools\avr/bin/avr-gcc returned 1 exit status

compilation terminated.

c:/program files/windowsapps/arduinollc.arduinoide_1.8.15.0_x86__mdqgnx93n4wtt/hardware/tools/avr/bin/../lib/gcc/avr/5.4.0/../../../../avr/bin/ld.exe: error: lto-wrapper failed

collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status

exit status 1
Error compiling for board Arduino/Genuino Mega or Mega 2560.

This bug is specific to the 5.4.0-atmel3.6.1-arduino2 version of avr-gcc used by Arduino AVR Boards 1.6.22 and newer. It has been reported here:

Here's the traditional workaround:

• Tools > Board > Boards Manager
  • Wait for downloads to finish.
  • When you move the mouse pointer over "Arduino AVR Boards", you will see a "Select version" dropdown menu appear. Select "1.6.21".
  • Click "Install".
  • Wait for installation to finish.
  • Click "Close".

Due to a bug, this workaround doesn't work with Arduino IDE 1.8.6, but it will work with any other version of the Arduino IDE.