Go Down

Topic: Best way to power a servo? (Read 347 times) previous topic - next topic

red_elephant

Hello, I'm new to Arduino and would welcome some advice. I've searched the tutorials and the forum, but I have specific question that I can't find the answer to.

I'm using a Uno to control an S3003 servo.  I have a switching mode power supply that I wish to use. The output voltage is variable in steps, including 5V and 7V.  I'd like to avoid having two separate power supplies.

From what I have read, I think there are two alternatives:

1) Set the power supply to 7V, connect it to the Uno power input jack, power the servo from the 5V pinout (I'm aware of the current limit).

2) Set the power supply to 5V, connect it to both the Uno 5V socket and directly to the servo.

Regarding (1), many people advise against connecting a servo directly to the Uno, although the tutorials suggest this is OK.

As for (2), some people advise against using 5V socket in this way, due to lack of protection.  Writing that, it occurs to me that the 5V for the Uno could be connected to the USB port. Is this a good idea?

So I'm confused!  Any information to help me decide which way to go will be gratefully received.

jremington

Feb 04, 2019, 06:49 pm Last Edit: Feb 04, 2019, 06:54 pm by jremington
I'd like to avoid having two separate power supplies.
That is not easy to do with motors and servos, because they inject severe electrical disturbances into the power leads, and can actually reset or damage the Arduino.

You either have to implement "power supply decoupling" (which won't work if your motor power supply is inadequate) or use two separate power supplies. The latter is much easier for a beginner. 4xAA batteries will work for 1-2 small servos.

Don't forget to connect the grounds.

red_elephant