Go Down

Topic: Newbie Help Please: Oscillator.h: No such file or directory (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

Ben_swo

I am a teacher delivering some Arduino lessons for the first time and I'm having trouble with this error:

Not used: /Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/libraries/Servo
exit status 1
Oscillator.h: No such file or directory

I'd really appreciate if someone could help me out or point me to a reference that I can follow. I have searched quite a bit with no luck.

I am building the OttoDIY Humanoid robot, Arduino Nano board.

Cheers, Ben

pert

When you encounter an error you'll see a button on the right side of the orange bar "Copy error messages" (or the icon that looks like two pieces of paper in the Arduino Web Editor). Click that button. Paste the error in a message here USING CODE TAGS (</> button on the forum toolbar). If the text exceeds the forum's 9000 character limit, save it to a text file and post it as an attachment. If you click the "Reply" button here, you will see an "Attachments and other settings" link.

When you see a "No such file or directory" error it almost always means you need to install the library that contains the missing file.

Often the code you're compiling will come with documentation (either a comment or separate document) that tells you where to get the library dependencies.

In other cases the author of the code will not have been so kind and you'll need to go on a hunt for the missing library.

A good place to start is the Arduino IDE's Library Manager:
  • Sketch > Include Library > Manage Libraries...
  • In the "Filter your search..." box, type some keywords you have gleaned from the missing file name.
  • Scroll through the results for the right library. Click on it.
  • Click "Install".
  • Wait for installation to finish.
  • Click "Close".
  • Try compiling your code again.