Go Down

Topic: How to make a Receiver Module for Visible light? (Read 208 times) previous topic - next topic

Kervs

Mar 26, 2019, 10:42 am Last Edit: Mar 26, 2019, 02:52 pm by Kervs Reason: Clarity of what i want to do
Hi,
This is what i want to do.  As silly as it seems.
I am a newbie.

Aim:

1) It would be used in a dark room with minimal light
2) I will change the IR LED in a remote control to a white LED.
3) On the Ardunio side, i would like a receiver for a Visible light sensor.
4) i will use the IR code from the library.

Question:
1) Can anyone please advise how to achieve this.

Side Note:
I want to do something like what this guy is doing but using visible light.
http://www.electronoobs.com/eng_arduino_tut34

Any help will be very much appreciated.

Thanks Everyone!

knut_ny

The IR receiver is sensitive to a specific frequency  (often 38kHz +/-)  It decodes the incoming light.
Example datasheet

It can be tricky  to make a sender/receiver combo that in not using a carrier frequency. 
Try it.  LED + Photodiode/phototransistor.
I guess the sender part of the library  must be altered to remove the carrier freq.
Ny

Idahowalker

What might work is a sun tracker. Do a search on "solar tracker diy" for some ideas. You'd just be scaling your project for the light source.

Paul_KD7HB

Hi,
This is what i want to do.  As silly as it seems.
I am a newbie.

Aim:

Question:
1) Can anyone please advise how to achieve this.

Side Note:
I want to do something like what this guy is doing but using visible light.
http://www.electronoobs.com/eng_arduino_tut34

Any help will be very much appreciated.

Thanks Everyone!

I don't know the answer, but you need to do some more research on how an IR remote control works and how the IR sensor receives and processes the IR signal.