Go Down

Topic: Control of 14 relay matrix (Read 207 times) previous topic - next topic

duendedude84

Good day

This is my first post here and my first time working with Arduino. I have been working with electronics for many years and mostly high voltage low current stuff.

I need to build a cool switching unit for a friend that includes 14x relays that must be controllable via a touch screen with some visual representation of the relays that are on and that are off.

What would the basic building blocks include?

01. Arduino Nano
02. I2C expander units
03. Touch screen (I2C)
04. Maybe ir/bluetooth receiver unit for remote control
05. Relay matrix (which I am designing on a PCB)

Any advice and heads-up would be appreciated.

:-)

groundFungus

Mar 18, 2019, 05:48 pm Last Edit: Mar 18, 2019, 05:51 pm by groundFungus
A schematic of the setup and an idea of what it is supposed to do would be a first step.  Do the relays have drivers?  Which I2C expanders?   

IR or Bluetooth?  Bluetooth is easier with a Android smart phone and the touch screen could be omitted.  Use the phone display.  There are several Bluetooth terminals and application builders available, many free.  I use Bluetooth Electronics on my Android tablet.  It is free and avaiable on the App Store.

duendedude84

A schematic of the setup and an idea of what it is supposed to do would be a first step.  Do the relays have drivers?  Which I2C expanders?   

IR or Bluetooth?  Bluetooth is easier with a Android smart phone and the touch screen could be omitted.  Use the phone display.  There are several Bluetooth terminals and application builders available, many free.  I use Bluetooth Electronics on my Android tablet.  It is free and avaiable on the App Store.

The relays will have drivers on the main PCB. They switch an audio routing matrix. A screen on the enclosure is vital and cannot be omitted.