How To Control and Display Opening Precentage of Linier Actuator to Phone

Please Help.

Hello everyone, I'm joni from Indonesia.

Please help, how to control and display the precentage opening of linier actuator (with magnetic reed sensor built in) by android phone through wifi. I have bought Arduino Mega 2560 and wifi modul esp8266.

Code and skematic.

Please help, or anybody who has the same problem please share.

Personally, I'd forget the android/wifi part to start with and get the thing "sweeping" in and out in a loop and reporting its position in the serial monitor to start.

Or are you already past that stage?

Not yet, just received arduino and wifi modul that I bought online. And I don't know how to instaling reed actuator sensor, instal arduino to wifi, or wifi to phone, I'm really new to this arduino.

As @neiklot suggested, leave all the wireless stuff to one side for now and figure out how to make the actuator work with your Atmega 2560.

Then extend your program so you can control the actuator using messages sent from the Serial Monitor.

When all that is working put it to one side and concentrate on getting the wireless stuff to send and receive a simple message such as "hello world".

When you can do both separately it will be time to think about combining them.

...R

I'm trying to visualize how you can tell percentage in or out with a reed switch, which is surely more likely to be a limit switch? Unless you can rig lots of switches and or lots of magnets to indicate a grainy position?

Do you have the actuator? Perhaps we should hear about it: how it gets controlled, how it gets powered, etc etc

Robin2:
Then extend your program so you can control the actuator using messages sent from the Serial Monitor.

Great idea, since I expect parsing commands inbound is the same if they come from the monitor or a phone.

neiklot: