Go Down

Topic: Burning Bootloader on a Arduino UNO with another Arduino UNO (Read 125 times) previous topic - next topic

bastelbrothers

Nov 28, 2020, 01:03 pm Last Edit: Nov 28, 2020, 01:05 pm by bastelbrothers
Hello guys,

I am a kind of newbie and I am in a dead end with my problem: I try to burn the bootloader on a Arduino UNO with the ATMEGA 328P with another Ardunio UNO in the same configuration (But as a replica from Elegoo). But it does not work. Here is the error message:

***failed; 
avrdude: verification error, first mismatch at byte 0x0000
         0x0f != 0x3f
avrdude: verification error; content mismatch

Anyone a guess what I am doing wrong?

Some background information:
How am I doing it?
I followed the instructions form this offical link:
https://support.arduino.cc/hc/en-us/articles/360012048080-How-to-burn-the-bootloader-between-two-Arduino-UNO
I made an additional step which is not descriped in the instruction: I choosed "Arduino as ISP" as programmer.

What is it doing?
I have the LEDs connected to check what the Ardunio is doing. The Heartbeat-LED is breathing constantly and when I burn the bootloader first the Error-LED flashes once and then the Programming-LED flashes once.

Why am I doing it?
I wanted to get a new script on the "target ardunio", but that did not work. The error message was something like:

0x0f != 0x3f

Beside that the old script worked just fine.
So the internet adviced me to reburn the bootloader. I followed the above mentioned instruction and now, if I try to get a new script on the Ardunio I get the following error message after a long time of "uploading":

avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 10 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x56

The old script does not work anymore.

Thank you in advance for helpful advices. I have reached the end of my wisdom.

kprims

Any chance you are using an older avrdude?
Is it failing while verifying Lock bits?