Go Down

Topic: Using a voltage senor to trigger Blink LED Routine (Read 178 times) previous topic - next topic

Winovator

Hello All, It's my first attempt at programming Arduino and I am very novice, so I apologize for the dumb questions I am about to ask.

I have an external voltage sensor, connected to my Mega 2560. I am simply trying to use the voltage sensor to start the Blink programme.

The voltage from the sensor is not constant. I just need it to trigger the onboard LED

I noticed that I should not have multiple delay statements as my serial monitor appears to be getting its delay from the delay statement for the LED.

Anyways, I would be most grateful if someone could have a quick look and fix/explain what I am doing wrong.

In a nutshell, this is what I am trying to achieve:

IF any voltage is detected by the voltage sensor, THEN start the blink programme!

Please see my sketch below:

int analogInput = A1;
float vout = 0.0;
float vin = 0.0;
float R1 = 818000.0; // 
float R2 = 179150.0; //
int value = 0;
void setup(){
   pinMode(analogInput, INPUT);
   Serial.begin(9600);
   Serial.print("DC VOLTMETER");
    // initialize digital pin LED_BUILTIN as an output.
  pinMode(LED_BUILTIN, OUTPUT);
}

void loop(){
   // read the value at analog input
   value = analogRead(analogInput);
   vout = (value * 5.0) / 1024.0; // see text
   vin = vout / (R2/(R1+R2));
   // the loop function runs over and over again forever

Serial.print("INPUT V= ");
Serial.println(vin,2);
delay(500);

digitalWrite(LED_BUILTIN, HIGH);   // turn the LED on (HIGH is the voltage level)
  delay(5000);                       // wait for a second
  digitalWrite(LED_BUILTIN, LOW);    // turn the LED off by making the voltage LOW
  delay(2000);                       // wait for a second

}

surveyranger

Apr 11, 2019, 05:23 am Last Edit: Apr 11, 2019, 05:25 am by surveyranger