Go Down

Topic: Can my Arduino UNO be powered from a normal 12 V (14.7 V) lead battery? (Read 5807 times) previous topic - next topic

clockdivider

Hello, I am quite new to electronics and Arduino, but so far I have successfully developed my own flash controller for photographic purpose.

Now I want to make the project mobile, so I am looking for an adequate power supply for my Arduino. When I am out with my photographic equipment, I have a very, very, very heavy 12 Volt lead-battery with me that powers my flashes. Now I was wondering whether I can use this battery as a power supply for my Arduino too?

Although it is written "12 Volt" on the battery, it actually outputs 14,7 Volt, so now I am afraid to blow up my board. Also: if I cannot use the battery, what kind of mobile power supply is best for the Arduino then?

Thanks a lot! Martin...

clockdivider

Too stupid! I thought 12 Volt is the upper limit to drive an Arduino, but it is only "recommended" to drive the Arduino at max. 12 Volt. I found the article "A Big Battery Adapter for Arduino".

Hmmm... What does that mean? Does that mean it  is "not recommended" to drive it at 14.7 Volts? Still a little concerned to use the big battery as power supply...

retrolefty

May 13, 2011, 05:35 pm Last Edit: May 13, 2011, 05:36 pm by retrolefty Reason: 1

Too stupid! I thought 12 Volt is the upper limit to drive an Arduino, but it is only "recommended" to drive the Arduino at max. 12 Volt. I found the article "A Big Battery Adapter for Arduino".

Hmmm... What does that mean? Does that mean it  is "not recommended" to drive it at 14.7 Volts? Still a little concerned to use the big battery as power supply...