Go Down

Topic: Looking for someone with AFSK experience and interest (APRS project) (Read 519 times) previous topic - next topic

MaineWebDad

Greetings! I'm looking for someone who has AFSK experience and an interest in sharing some of that knowledge as I build a project this year that will evolve over the summer into part of a hands-on course for advanced middle and high school students. This project involves ham radios - I am a licensed ham operator.

I know there will be a temptation to suggest other ways of doing this project - we're all like that sometimes. Please keep in mind I have solid reasons for approaching the project as described below. I have about 30 years experience tinkering with technology such as the Arduino, but not a formal computer science degree. I'm someone who codes to get stuff done, not for the joy of it. (Therefore holes in what I know. But always happy to do my homework if folks are willing to suffer through a couple "everyone should already know this" questions.)

The Project
I need some coding and electronics assistance with a project to turn an Arduino into a Terminal Node Controller (TNC) which is a modem for communicating over a 2m ham radio.

I'll know this project is successful when...
I can send and receive serial data from another Arduino or device, which this Arduino will process using AFSK and connect to a ham radio - a TX cable to the Mic port and an RX cable to the Speaker port. Once this is tested, the next step is to ensure the data processing (encoding/decoding) is done as APRS packets.

I need some help with...
- The hardware (I've played with the Markqvist board but am not sure I have it done correctly and not sure what other configurations are out there or how they compare.)
- The software (looking for libraries and sample code - I can make round pegs fit in square holes if I at least have a place to start.) 

Requirements/Constraints