Go Down

Topic: How to connect Keyence Sensor to Arduino (Read 411 times) previous topic - next topic

ksnvarma

Hi, I am new to electronics and arduino,
I would like to connect a keyence FS-V21  photoelectric sensor to arduino to detect an object is placed in front of the sensor or now. All I care is to get a high or a low value from the sensor.
The FS-V21 sensor has 3 wires ,  'Brown', 'Black' and 'Blue'.

As per the manual
The Blue wire  -> 0VDC
The Black wire -> 5 to 40VDC through a load
The Brown wire -> 12 to 24 VDC 

Can anyone help me as to which pins do I need to connect the 3 wires to on arduino UNO ? I only see 5V and 3.3V pins on the UNO
I want to get a high or low value from the serial monitor.

dougp

As per the manual
The Blue wire  -> 0VDC
The Black wire -> 5 to 40VDC through a load
The Brown wire -> 12 to 24 VDC  
Blue to Arduino GND

Brown to some external non-Arduino power source (UNO does not provide +12V) - the ground of which must also be connected to Arduino GND

Black to Arduino digital input with internal pullup enabled - or external pullup resistor and Arduino input configured as just INPUT

Karma for image, part number, and intelligible statement first time out.
Everything we call real is made of things that cannot be regarded as real.  If quantum mechanics hasn't profoundly shocked you, you haven't understood it yet. - Niels Bohr

No private consultations undertaken!

ksnvarma

Thank you so much for the reply dougp.
For the external non-Arduino power source, can I use a power adapter of one of my devices?
The adapter shows below values on the label

Input: 100-240 V  ~50/60Hz 0.35A
Output: 12V DC  1.0A

I am thinking I will cut the output lead pin to expose the 2 wires  and connect one wire to arduino ground and another wire to the Brown wire of the sensor. Would it cause any problems? I don't want to try it out directly, since it may destroy my sensor or arduino.
Thanks for the help.

dougp