Amplifying a signal using an Op-Amp

I'm a newb to electronics, especially analog electronics, and have run into this problem: I'm trying to amplify an audio signal (output of a ISD1932 chip) and put together a basic non-inverting amplifier using an LM358 OpAmp - exactly the circuit shown as the very first "Typical Application" on page 11 of this datasheet: http://www.national.com/ds/LM/LM158.pdf

When hooked to the audio recorder, I get quiter, rather than louder volume, and my oscilloscope shows that while the input waveform (straight out of the recorder) is about 5Vpp, the output was around 2.5Vpp.

To try to simplify the issue, I then built the amp circuit on a separate breadboard and used a sine wave from a function generator (set to about 1KHz f, 5Vpp) to feed into the amp. The output was a flat line with a little bit of "wiggle" - less than .2Vpp. I tried 2 difference LM358 chips (on the off chance that the 1st one was bad), with the same results.

I suspect I'm missing something obvious, would someone please clue me in?

Thank,
Juliean.

PS: one more question - for audio signals like this, does it matter if the amp is set up as inverting or non-inverting?

With your amplifier set for a gain of 101 an input of 5v would mean an output of 505v... WAY beyond your power supply.

Perhaps you should try the Voltage Follower circuit (gain of 1).

As its an audio signal, what you should be using is
AC Coupled Inverting Amplifier
on the top of page 16, or
AC Coupled Non-Inverting Amplifier
on page 17.
Gain is easy to set, the capacitors keep any DC out of your recorder.
You could follow it with
DC Coupled Low-Pass RC Active Filter
on page 17 if you have high frequency noise to filter out as well.

I didn't read in depth, but I believe these designs all intend for you to have +/- power supplies as well, not just single sided +5V.

Wouldn't a gain of 1 just be non-amplified? What would that get me?