Go Down

Topic: why is my stepper stupid? (Read 3348 times) previous topic - next topic

TECH GEEK

i have tried to get the stepper lib working but all the stepper does is this:
left > left > right > right > LOOP

i've tried to switch 4 of the 8 wires that are not connected to V+ (Unipolar setup) but either it does the same thing again or does not move at all

can anyone help me?
As always... Thanks for posting!!!

jointtech

ah that subject line is just begging one of the grumpy old guys to hammer you.  Personally I'm grabbing popcorn and subscribing to the thread. :smiley-mr-green:

You dont mention which stepper, how you have it connected, or really anything else that might help somebody diagnose the issue.

I dont have any ideas as I'm a newb but I did have some similar weirdness when powering a stepper directly from Arduino. 

TECH GEEK

aI dont have any ideas as I'm a newb but I did have some similar weirdness when powering a stepper directly from Arduino.

not a good idea...
way more than 30mA, which is more than an Arduino can handle
As always... Thanks for posting!!!

bilbo

Well from the amount of information you've given, this is pretty much impossible.
1. What is your code? Are you sure it is not telling the stepper to go 'left > left > right > right > LOOP'? Whatever that means, anyway.
2. How is your stepper wired? What kind of stepper is it? I assume when you say "unipolar setup" you mean that it is a unipolar stepper, but please be specific.

I always find it entertaining when posters think that forum members can read minds...

Grumpy_Mike

Just like when people get dogs that are like themselves so electronics tend to acquire the personality traits of there owners. You need to be firm but fair. Show it who is the boss, but like most things a little understanding an humility can often work wonders.