Go Down

Topic: Windows 10 Device Manager fails to recognize UNO (Read 438 times) previous topic - next topic

the_alien_cat

Hello,

I am new to Arduino, so please be patient.  I have purchased the starter kit, downloaded & installed the Arduino IDE software and plugged the UNO board into the USB port.  The instructions say that the driver should be automatically downloaded because I am running windows 10.  But when I go to the device manager, the port is registered as "USB Serial Device (COM3)."  There is no Other Device/Unknown Device listed in the Device Manager.  I can only assume that the UNO board has not been recognized so the driver has not downloaded.  There is one other thing - the green ON light is flashing on the UNO board, but there is also a yellow light flashing.  The yellow light is labelled "L" and is immediately below a painted label entitled "Digital - PWM~". 

Have I done something wrong, or is there something wrong with the UNO board?

spycatcher2k

When you unplug the board, does com3 vanish?
Mrs Drew
-=-
http://www.uk-pcb.co.uk - UK PCB Fab Company
I will design & code for you, but I will also charge you (PM me)
If you don't like my answers, realize : I'm not being cheeky, I'm Just trying to prompt you to use your own brain/google etc.

the_alien_cat

Hello,

Yes, COM3 does disappear.  That tells me the the laptop knows there is a device connected to the USB port, but for some reason it cannot recognize what it is.  The flashing yellow light on the UNO board may be further proof, but I am not sure as this is the first time I have plugged an Arduino board into a computer.  Any thoughts?

DrAzzy

May 27, 2019, 04:27 am Last Edit: May 27, 2019, 04:29 am by DrAzzy