Go Down

Topic: Interfacing Arduino with Multimeter Software (Port Busy Error) (Read 788 times) previous topic - next topic

stevenir

Arduino newbie here.

I am trying to get my Arduino micro to communicate with multimeter software.  The software (BenchVue) has an option for serial control, but when I connect it to the Arduino's port, I can no longer upload my sketch because the it says "Port busy".  This makes sense to me, since I am already connected to the port from the software; however, this one-way connection means I can't send any information either way.  I don't really understand how to connect from both sides to communicate with the program.

Ultimately, I want to synchronize the multimeter data with the data I am receiving from the Arduino.  If there is a better or easier method, I am open to trying something else as well.

pert

As you discovered, you can only have a port open in one application at a time. If you want to use the same port in BenchVue and the Arduino IDE, you need to disconnect from the port in BenchVue before connecting (uploading or using Serial Monitor) in the Arduino IDE. If BenchVue doesn't provide a way to disconnect from the port, you would need to exit BenchVue.

however, this one-way connection means I can't send any information either way.  I don't really understand how to connect from both sides to communicate with the program.
I don't understand what you mean by that. Please provide a detailed explanation of what you're trying to accomplish.

If you do need to have a serial port to your Arduino open in the Arduino IDE at the same time as you have a serial port to your Arduino open in BenchVue, you can connect a USB to TTL serial adapter (AKA "FTDI") to pins 0 and 1 of your Arduino Micro and open the port of the USB to TTL serial adapter in BenchVue. Pins 0 and 1 are Serial1 on the Micro so you'll need to adjust your code accordingly.

stevenir

Thanks for the response.