Go Down

Topic: upgrade of RC Car (Read 357 times) previous topic - next topic

km1kze

Hello people,

I bought a RC Car (those off road types on aliexpress) and want to try to upgrade it with a bit more power and a FPV camera+transimtter.
I am no expert in this stuff, but I drew an example of what I would want to achieve.

Can someone please tell me if is possible to do it like is in the uploaded image? I skipped the connections from bluetooth, L298 module to Arduino because I'm more interested in the power distribution of this circuit. The car has 3 no name DC motors, don't know much about them... One in rear+one in front that are used simultaneously to go back/forward; and one for changing direction.

The car as it is, is using a 6 pack of AA Ni-Cd rechargable batteries rated 7.2V 2000mAh - I thought to use 3 18650 cells in series, of around 2000mAh for all components.

What do you guys think, it will work, or do you have any suggestions or improvements?
Thank you!

vinceherman

Robin2

Jun 05, 2019, 03:20 pm Last Edit: Jun 05, 2019, 03:24 pm by Robin2
Am I correct to assume that the L298 is part of the original car system. If not, and you are thinking of buying one then DON'T. There are many motor drivers that are far more efficient. Also, even small DC motors can draw more current than an L298 is capable of. Have a look, for example, at the Pololu website.

It would be wise to measure the no-load current and the stall current for the drive motors. Only hold it in the stall condition for 2 or 3 seconds and expect a stall current of the order of 5, 10 or 20 amps.

You may find that the power draw of the motors interferes with the quality of the 12v power for other sensitive devices.

...R
Two or three hours spent thinking and reading documentation solves most programming problems.

daysleeper

There are many motor drivers that are far more efficient.

expect a stall current of the order of 5, 10 or 20 amps.