Needing help deciding b/t servo and stepper for a project

Hi y'all,

I'm a researcher currently building and experiment from the ground up. I have nominal programming/electronics experience (a bit of python here and there). Apologies if this is the wrong place to ask but any input would be helpful.

The basic gist of it is I need a motor that can rotate a rectangular box (LxWxH 42cmx31cmx5cm) weighing between 3-3.5kg. I need to move the box from horizontal and then tilt it to 45degrees (at different increments) from the horizontal. I want to connect the motor to the box right at the bottom center.

It seems like a stepper NEMA 23/24 would be the right size motor BUT I was wondering whether a stepper or servo can be controlled with more precision on the Arduino? It is very important for the angle I rotate it to be constant and I have seen that steppers can miss a step but know next to nothing about a servo.

Any thoughts?

thank you in advance :slight_smile:

I should also mention fast speed rotation is not necessary and in fact a slower rotation is preferred.

I am more concerned with accuracy and the motor being about to hold the 3-3.5 kg weight w/o slipping.

For accurate positioning I believe that a stepper is better than a servo (that you can afford). Industrial servos that have the required torque and positional accuracy are expensive. As for missing steps, a properly chosen stepper and mechanical arrangement will not miss steps. You don't really say what sort of mechanical arrangement that you are using to cause the required motion. It would help to know the mechanics to help choose a stepper.

groundFungus:
You don't really say what sort of mechanical arrangement that you are using to cause the required motion. It would help to know the mechanics to help choose a stepper.

Hi, thanks so much for your reply. By mechanical arrangement do you mean how I will be attaching the motor to the box?

If so, here are my plans: