Go Down

Topic: Connecting WiFi Module - ESP8266 to Arduino Uno. What to know? (Read 372 times) previous topic - next topic

guanciale

I am looking to connect the ESP8266 to an an Uno (as well a Blackboard Artemis) that will connect to a hotspot on my phone. I was wondering what I should know before I dive right in? Perhaps any necessary drivers, coding or additional products needed.

Idahowalker

You may want to do some research into how you are going to interface the 5V Arduino Uno with a 3.3V ESP8266, Espressif has removed the reference that the ESP8266 is 5V tolerant.

You might look into the advantages of using freeRTOS with the ESP8266.

When you do your searches for libraries for the ESP use the word 'ESP' in your search.

guanciale

I believe my Uno has 3.3V option on top of a 5V option. I have this model and according to This guide I should be alright? Correct me if I'm mistaken as I am fairly new to the arduino environment.

guanciale

May luck be with you.
Did I go wrong somewhere? I am really new so am not sure if i'm doing something wrong.

Idahowalker

I notice many people connecting a ESP8266 directly to a Arduino Uno and things work fine, other times things do not work fine.

At one time Espressif, had in their documentation that the ESP8266 GPIO was 5 volt compatible. Now Espressif has removed the reference that the ESP8266 is GPIO 5V tolerant. Thus it is, to me, a matter of luck if and for how long a 3.3V device is going to work with 5 volts on its GPIO pins.

pert

I believe my Uno has 3.3V option on top of a 5V option.
I don't see anything to indicate that is so. It appears to be a faithful clone of the Uno, which is a 5 V only board.

Anyway, there are many tutorials that will give you all the information you need to connect the ESP8266 to your Uno. The main things you need to understand: