Go Down

Topic: Pixel limit with U8g2 (Read 322 times) previous topic - next topic

LittleHobbyShop

I'm new to Arduino and trying to find my way around with the U8g2 library.

I have a small SSD1306 128x32 display which I have working no problem.

I have a sketch which scrolls text based on the movements of a rotary encoder and it works very well with short text strings moving from left to right on the display as i turn the encoder back and forth.

My confusion comes when I try a long string. After a few experiments I've discovered that the pixels in the x direction restart after double the display width at 256 pixels.

So this:
Code: [Select]
u8g2.drawStr(256,10,"Hello World!")
gives the same result on the display as:
Code: [Select]
u8g2.drawStr(0,10,"Hello World!")
Perhaps this is the display driver handling this? I don't know.

So how can I handle a text string longer than 256 pixels? I guess I need to display a 'chunk' of the text up to the width of the display and then move on to the next 'chunk' as required but i can't quite figure how to do that. I've had a look at the scrolling text example but it doesn't run nicely on my display with text overlapping and restarting in odd places. I've had a good read of the U8g2 documentation but haven't found enlightenment there either.

I'm not necessarily looking for a whole answer but if someone could point me in the right direction that'd be great. Attached is the aforementioned sketch.

septillion

That's because drawStr() (and I think all methods) expects a byte for the x and y position. Why would it expect anything larger if the screen is just 128x32?

And if you try to whack an int like 256 into a byte it's MSB's are lost resulting in just a plain 0.

Solution is for you to constrain the inputs :)
Use fricking code tags!!!!
I want x => I would like x, I need help => I would like help, Need fast => Go and pay someone to do the job...

NEW Library to make fading leds a piece of cake