Go Down

Topic: Long length of addressable LED's? (200ft) (Read 958 times) previous topic - next topic

Shanedm1

So I want to install a long continuous run of about 200ft of addressable LED's. Is there a rule of thumb with how far along the LED strip there should be a power supply? I am sure that it needs to be powered along the strip to ensure the brightness (and voltage) remains fairly constant so dimming isn't an issue.

So for 200ft, any recommendation how far along I need to have it powered?

Also, is there a preferred addressable strip for 200ft? The WS2812B? Those have worked well for me, but I have no experience with very long runs.

Thanks!!!

PaulRB

Aug 02, 2019, 08:17 am Last Edit: Aug 02, 2019, 08:23 am by PaulRB
Important questions here are what voltage the strip requires: 5V, 12V, 24V... and how many LEDs per metre: 30, 60, 144... These answers make a huge difference to your question.

With 12V strips, LEDs cannot be individually controlled, but each group of 3 LEDs can. With 24V strips, groups of 6 LEDs can be individually controlled. This more coarse level of control is often ok because it is less noticeable with longer strips. The big advantage is that current requirements are significantly lower, making wiring easier, powering the strip at fewer points with somewhat thinner wires.

PaulRB

Another limiting factor to bear in mind is that basic Arduino like Uno, Nano, Pro Mini can only control around 500 LEDs because of ram memory limitations. (However, for 12/24V strips this means up to 500 groups of 3/6 LEDs can be controlled). If you need more than 500 LEDs or groups of LEDs, this does not mean you must have a Mega, although that would work. There are plenty of compact Arduinos and compatibles available these days with far more ram memory. Most of them are 3.3V devices, and will need a logic level shifter (not one of those sold on eBay for i2c level conversion, use a 74hc14 chip or similar).

Shanedm1

Shanedm1