Go Down

Topic: LED Driver TLC5940 / Library Compatible to TLC5940PWPR ? (Read 351 times) previous topic - next topic

Amazonasmann

Hello,

As a beginner I have a question regarding the electronic piece TLC5940. While looking for my first arduino project, I found a guide I am looking forward to do. The guide uses 2x TLC5940 (which I figured out is actually a  TLC5940NT). There is a library for TLC5940 which is also mentioned here: https://playground.arduino.cc/Learning/TLC5940/. However this TLC5940NT seems to be rather expensive on the usual websites like amazon etc...because it seems to be obsolete. On several electronics website I always find the TLC5940PWPR or TLC5940QRHBREP first which costs like 2€ a piece.

I am not too confident about my electronics knowledge but I assume they are suited for the task (connecting 25 LEDs and control them individually).

Now they all seem to share the same datasheet but I am wondering if the library I want to use also works for this piece of electronics?

What is the actual difference between those? The TLC5940NT being obsolete, will the existing library for TLC5940 still work?

TLC5940NT

TLC5940PWPR

Grumpy_Mike

Aug 13, 2019, 05:15 pm Last Edit: Aug 13, 2019, 05:25 pm by Grumpy_Mike
The links don't take you to anything but the first page.

Generally speaking in electronics the letters tagged on the end of a part number refers to things like the package type and temperature specifications and such. The chip itself will work the same and so the library will.

Search for those extra letters in the data sheet.

It is a bit of an old chip and you would be better off using a WA2812b strip of LEDs these days. They are much simpler to drive.

The information you need is in the PACKAGING INFORMATION section starting at page Addendum-Page 1 at the end of the data sheet, Note that a HTSSOP package is a surface mount part and is tricky to solder if you are a beginner.

ReverseEMF