Go Down

Topic: “Development and modelling of a low speed multi-node communication protocol and (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

Roshan67

Hi, I am new to Arduino programming and its implementation, I have to demonstrate a working model based on the following details. Is there someone who could help me to develop the following project or give some ideas to achieve my goal. The project details follow.

"Given the current trend towards powering remotely located plant and equipment with decentralised cable free power supplies (e.g. a solar panel and battery pack per item of equipment at a node), coordinated control and reporting of the behaviour of the equipment at each node presents new challenges. Conventional copper and glass fibre cable networks to support the IT infrastructure have also been discarded, WiFi is a non-viable technology due to inter-node distance constraints, yet fault reporting and maintenance of the individual items of equipment at each node must still be supported.

This project investigates communication protocols that underpin contemporary data networking applications such as Ethernet (CD/CSMA), CA/CSMA, Token Ring (baton passing), Master/Backup, Multi-Master/Multi-Backup to evaluate their suitability as a protocol model for a WideR Area Network that might link nodes together, where the internode distance might be as much as 2-3 kilometres.

The project aims to demonstrate a working model for a WRAN using a microprocessor-based technology platform like Arduino; a WRAN that could wirelessly link together a cluster of street lighting poles around a small village or as often found in remote parts of Australia, at major road junctions on outback highways. Apart from fault finding, fault reporting and maintenance, the goal for the street lighting example is to coordinate time of day switching based on shared knowledge of environmental conditions and stored energy capacity of the main power supply battery at each node."

Thank you