Go Down

Topic: Arduino IDE need improvements ! Händling isn´t good ! (Read 2584 times) previous topic - next topic

tswoshman

Hello,

I started coding Arduino a while ago, it works so far but this software needs a few changes to make the handling better !

I have a problem with the auto save funktion !
If I change a sketch and I close it, the changes getting saved without asking. Sometimes I want to try something but I don´t want to save it.

If I want to try something I have to make a copy of the code and then I can make my experiments without messing with the original code. That realy sucks !
How can I change this. If I close a sketch I want to be asked if the changes may be saved or not. this is not happening !

Can someone help ?

The next Problem I have, there is no propper error message system ! If there is an error you never know why !!!

Sucks even more !

Other compiler can do this ! Why isn´t it possible that the makers of Arduino can do this propperly ?

How can I contact the programmers of the Arduino IDE to tell them this problem ?

Why did nobody realize this issue jet ??? Am I making something wrong ???

cheers,
Tswoshman

groundFungus

Sep 29, 2019, 01:17 pm Last Edit: Sep 29, 2019, 01:17 pm by groundFungus
You can disable the auto save in File, Preferences.

You can use a different IDE.  There are many to choose from.
You will save everyone's time if you read and follow the forum guidelines.  https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,148850.0.html

Paul__B

A lot of comments for a newbie!

Yes, the recent IDE versions save to compile.  This is what most people will want.  Earlier versions did not.

If you want to fork, you save as a new filename.

Plenty of compile error messages.  Option for verbosity.  What is it you actually want?

septillion

Why did nobody realize this issue jet ??? Am I making something wrong ???
Because we opened the settings and actually looked at the errors ;)
Use fricking code tags!!!!