Go Down

Topic: Keeping a constant temp using an arduino (Read 104 times) previous topic - next topic

dmannnnn

Nov 13, 2019, 10:24 pm Last Edit: Nov 13, 2019, 10:27 pm by dmannnnn
I'm very new to Arduino so I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing. With that being said, I'm currently trying to build a device that maintains a constant temperature in a beaker of water. I figure that a temperature probe will have to be checked at regular intervals, and if the reading of the probe is under a certain value then it will turn on a heating element for a certain period of time. Past there I'm not really sure where to go in terms of code or hardware.

This is for a science competition where I have to measure the salt content of water. I plan to measure the conductivity of the water and figure salt content from there, do with that information as you'd like.

Edit: I'd like to keep this all to one Arduino to save on money if possible

DangerToMyself

Folks will probably need you to define "constant temperature".

jremington

Nov 13, 2019, 10:51 pm Last Edit: Nov 13, 2019, 10:52 pm by jremington
This is a very difficult project for someone with no experience with Arduino. We strongly suggest that you start at the beginning.

Get an Arduino, learn to blink an LED without using delay, read a switch, measure a voltage, a temperature, etc. in order to learn the language and special features of the Arduino. If you skip those steps, expect endless frustration.

When you have done all that, google "arduino temperature control" for lots of examples. Measuring conductivity is a completely separate topic.

dmannnnn

This is a very difficult project for someone with no experience with Arduino. We strongly suggest that you start at the beginning.

Get an Arduino, learn to blink an LED without using delay, read a switch, measure a voltage, a temperature, etc. in order to learn the language and special features of the Arduino. If you skip those steps, expect endless frustration.