Go Down

Topic: What Shield is needed get Wifi capabilities with the Nano 33 BLE (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

jerteach

I am new to the Arduino world coming from Particle.io (Not open-source enough for me). I need to connect a wifi capable board/shield to the Nano 33 BLE. I know that the Nano 33 IOT has wifi just fairly sure I can't stack the 2 boards, what Arduino Wifi capable shield(s) could I use with the Nano 33 BLE?

First of all, I would like to do some web page communication between the Nano 33 BLE and the Chrome browser, like I have done here with the Particle Photon https://github.com/hpssjellis/particle.io-photon-high-school-robotics/tree/master/a06-web-app. Basically I would like to make a Nano 33 BLE peripheral device (BLE server) that can ALSO communicate with a webpage. This would create some data flow between a BLE network and a Wifi network.

Then I would like to get working, a websocket fast communication nodeJS chat server like I have at https://github.com/hpssjellis/Particle-Spark-Core-Photon-Websocket-Hack  (Note: This websocket is very old, insecure and needs updating). This allows me to send single character commands to the microprocessor with only a 20 ms delay. (Good for controlling toy cars.)

Any suggestions or interest in this project?

Juraj

one option: esp8266 module with AT firmware 1.7.1 and my WiFiEspAT library in Nano BLE.

jerteach

one option: esp8266 module with AT firmware 1.7.1 and my WiFiEspAT library in Nano BLE.

Thanks Juraj, that repo looks amazing, have you tried it yet with the Nano 33 BLE?

The more I research about the Nano 33 IOT the more I wonder if it could be a BLE peripheral device (BLE server)? I don't think it can, but thought I would ask, as that would solve my issue of BLE with Wifi.

Just replied to this which seems to suggest that the Nano 33 IOT will solve both issues just using bluetooth 4.2

https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=634152.msg4385416#msg4385416

Klaus_K